Our people


North Queensland Conservation Council is run on a day-to-day basis by a coordinator. Russell Kelly, appointed to the role in August 2017, was born and schooled in Cairns and is a graduate of JCU and ANU. He has a long career in conservation including periods with WWF, NSW Parks and Wildlife Service, and Aboriginal NGOs. He was with WWF-Australia for 4 years as Senior Program Officer – Wetlands, based in Brisbane and working across Outback Qld including the Einasleigh Uplands and the Southern Gulf of Carpentaria. More recently he was the Natural and Cultural Resources Manager and Office Manager with Northern Basin Aboriginal Nations in Canberra focusing on water policy in the Murray Darling Basin.

Previous coordinators, in the last fifteen years, have included Jeremy Tager, Carol Booth, James McLellan, Gail Hamilton, Wendy Tubman and Maree Dibella (2016-17). 

Management Committee 2017-2018

Wendy Tubman - President

Wendy has a long history of involvement with the environmental movement in North Queensland, having been heavily involved with NQCC’s ‘turn-of-the-century’ Nelly Bay Harbour campaign, a founding member (and past President) of Magnetic Island Nature Care Association (MINCA), and co-ordinator of NQCC from 2011-16.  


Peter Hanley - Vice President

Peter Hanley has lived in North Queensland for more than 30 years. His interests include human rights, social justice, sustainability and community development, with a particular penchant for creative performances to educate and inform. Peter is also a convenor of the Amnesty International Townsville branch. Peter also writes a blog called "True North".

Lindy-2017.jpgLindy Collins - Vice President

As a long standing NQCC member and environmentalist, Lindy has been active in many campaigns over the years and believes that the NQCC has made a difference in raising awareness of the challenges facing the environment. She wants a future that is liveable for the next generations and lives according to sustainable practices. She is an artist and teacher, grandmother and animal rights activist.

Heather Laurie - Secretary

Heather has been involved with NQCC for decades and has filled different committee roles over that time. 

Malcolm Tattersall - Committee Member

Malcolm has volunteered with NQCC since 2014, primarily working behind the scenes on our website. He is a teacher, musician, writer, photographer and blogger, and has contributed articles and photographs to a peculiar assortment of publications. He joined the committee in May 2016, filling a casual vacancy. 


NQCC’s task would be harder without the assistance of many other volunteers. If you would like to offer your skills and join them for a short or long term, please click here.

We have a great team of about 20 volunteers who assist with events as they occur. We also want to acknowledge the wonderful contribution of regular volunteers:

Presiding over NQCC’s Public Fund are Mary Vance, Lindy Collins, David Kault and Wendy Tubman.

Malcolm Tattersall, Justin Lee, Shannon Hu - Website team

Ishani Sahama, Jayden Engert, Justin Lee - Research team

Sophie Thompson - Gardener

Eileen McGrath - Administration